About the Association


The SEC Communicators Association (SECCA) was established in 2007 to enrich the professional development opportunities among peer institutions in the SEC. Initially launched as a concept by Tysen Kendig, associate vice chancellor for university relations at the University of Arkansas, the organization was formed to bring together communications professionals from SEC universities. With the commonality of region, scope, mission and challenges shared by member institutions, the concept for the organization assumed that much can be learned from one another to benefit collective and individual communications goals among the 12 member schools of the SEC.


The fundamental purpose of SECCA is to aid in the pursuit of communications goals and initiatives through collaboration, networking, sharing of best practices and professional development among all higher education communications professionals in the SEC.

The centerpiece endeavor of this association is an annual professional development and networking conference, hosted on a rotating, volunteer basis on the campuses of member institutions. The conference features sessions of timely interest across a wide array of communications topics, with most of the sessions led by conference participants who are able to share noteworthy experiences and best practices. Most of the presentations are designed to evolve into discussion forums, with participants sharing challenges faced in their offices and offering solutions to overcome them.


Membership in SECCA is voluntary and there are no membership fees, which differentiates this group from other development and networking associations. Membership is open to any communications professional working at an institution in the SEC.

Other beneficial aspects of the association include access to a listserv to foster year-round collaborative discussion among members, a jobs posting site. In the future, a combined experts database may be offered to present editors, producers and reporters with a sizeable pool of expert sources housed on the 12 comprehensive, international research campuses that comprise the conference.